Any person who has attained the age of 18 years may marry. If a
person is between the
age of 16 years and 18
years, the license will only be issued with the written consent of
parents, guardian, or
custodian. Consent forms are available
in our office.
WHERE TO APPLY:
Wisconsin residents apply for the license in the county where
one of them has lived for at
least 30 days, and may marry in any
county in Wisconsin. (If less than 30 days, you apply in the county
you just moved from.) Out-of-state
applicants apply for
the license in the county where the
ceremony will be held.
May not remarry until
after the granting of the
Judgment of Divorce, regardless of where the divorce took place.
(See 4b below also)
You will need to see your
Birth Certificate. (Hospital
documents and passports are NOT acceptable.) You
must also have the correct spelling of your parent’s full names if
on the birth certificate.
Driver’s license, photo ID, or other official document
that shows your
address for the last 30 days. If
your driver’s license does not have your correct address, we still
need to see it but you must also provide something (utility bill,
bank statement, rental agreement, statement from post office, etc.)
that states where you live –
not a PO Box.
If married previously:
copy of Judgment of Divorce,
court annulment papers, or death
certificate from each applicant’s last marriage must be
presented, regardless of how long ago it’s been.
It must be a CERTIFIED copy.
to have your
wedding date set
before coming in and know the
county and municipality
where the ceremony will be held (including the township if it’s
going to be at a rural location). You must also provide the name,
address, and phone number of the person who will perform your
Blood tests are not required
Both applicants must sign the forms in our
office however you don’t have to come in at the same time. Our
office is open from 8:am - 5:pm, Monday through Friday; but you
should be here before 4:30 when applying. We are open over the
lunch hour unless short-staffed so please call ahead if you plan to
come in during that time of day.
WAITING PERIOD: A 5-day waiting period is required by
law which means the license is not to be released until 5 days after
both applicants have come to our office. This may be waived for
special circumstances and an additional $ 10 fee. If you don’t want
to come back to pick up your printed documents after the 5 days, we
recommend that you apply for the license
weeks prior to your wedding
so there is sufficient time for those items to be mailed to you.
$ 80; paid when you apply ($ 95 if applying less than 5 days prior
to your wedding. See # 6 above).
This covers only the cost of
the application - it does
include any copies of the license after the ceremony.
We accept cash, check, or money order; we do not take credit cards.
EXPIRATION: The license is only valid for 30 days after
the date of issue. The marriage ceremony must be performed
within that time or you will have to apply all over again.
CEREMONY: Any court judge, court commissioner, ordained
clergy, or tribal judge may perform the ceremony. Out-of-state
clergy need a letter of sponsorship from a Wisconsin clergy-person.
The Honorable Judge Joseph Boles
will perform marriage ceremonies at the courthouse in Ellsworth on
weekdays around 12:00 noon. There is no charge for this; however,
you must pre-arrange the judge’s services by calling 715-273-3531,
June Circre – River Falls
James Shiely – Prescott – 715-262-5546
Robert Werthime – Hudson/Prescott –
Gwen Kuchwar – River Falls – 715-425-7281
Donarld Schwab – River Falls – 715-425-8225
Robert Loberg – Ellsworth – 715-273-5072
Julia R Gehring – Ellsworth – 715-273-3531
When calling to check availability,
be sure to ask how much the person charges for there services.
Copies of your marriage certificate
are not automatically provided. To purchase a copy, you must
contact the Register of Deeds in the county where the ceremony was
held. In Pierce County that would be:
404 W Main St PO Box 267
Ellsworth WI 54011
715-273-3531 Ext. 419)