New Wisconsin residents with an out of State License are required by Law to apply for a Wisconsin Drivers License within 30 days of becoming a resident of Wisconsin.
Anyone who operates a motor vehicle or motor-driven cycle on public roadways in Wisconsin is required to have a drivers license.
You may obtain a Wisconsin Class D drivers license (cars and light trucks) if you:
Are at lease 16 years of age (15 ˝ years for an instruction
To prove your name and date of birth, bring:
birth certificates or baptismal certificates are not
acceptable. Get a certified copy of
Have successfully completed an approved driver education course if
4) Have parental/guardian consent (Sponsorship) if under age 18.
5) Pass required driver license tests
Wisonsin residents with an out-of-state driver’s license (which is
valid or expired less
6) Turn in any drivers license or identification card from another state.
7) Have not had a suspended or revoked license in another state.
8) Meet physical and medical requirements for the type of driver license desired.
9) Pay required fees.
DMV Service Centers
Appointment needed only if a driving test will be taken. For written test and renewals be there 1 hour before closing time.
Contact the Driver Examiners within 30 days when you have any changes to the information on your driver’s license.Wisconsin Division of Motor Vehicles publishes a handbook and study guide (BDS 126-199) which may be obtained from one of the DMV Service Centers listed above. For Additional information
call (715) 386-8917.